Georges-Henri Meylan

Personal data
Born : January 19 in Sentier, VD, Switzerland.
Lives in the Vallée de Joux, Switzerland.
Married, 3 children, 10 grandchildren.

 

The Paul-Edouard Piguet Foundation has decided to support the launch of Muse Rolling. We have interviewed the Foundation’s president ; Georges-Henri Meylan, to explain why.

« First of all, we were attracted by the project’s originality, even though we felt it was a somewhat risky activity. We had already helped Laurent Golay earlier when he approached us to support him making skateboards in the Vallée de Joux. It seemed homogeneous to us. »

With regard to the question of soft mobility, the Paul-Edouard Piguet Foundation also felt that the Muse Rolling project could represent a solution that would respond to the needs of a large number of people.

« In the Valley de Joux, most residents must move around a lot and they sometimes have to go far to go to work. The idea of being mobile without using up too much energy – or none at all – is really something that appeals to many people living here. It will certainly enable them to save time when travelling between their home and the office. »

There also were the aspects of ecology and the safeguarding of the environment… issues that are subject to much doubt, raising many questions. There is a great deal of talking going on, but very few actions are taken.

Personally, Georges-Henri Meylan has to use his car. He has no other choice. On the other hand, he is free to choose what kind of car he wants to drive, thus allowing him to best respond to his ecological conscience.

Relative to the question if he intends to ride a longboard from Muse Rolling, he smiles in reference to his age. He no longer is part of the generation of young, dynamic executives to whom such a means of transportation would appeal.

« At my age, you have to avoid taking risks. Consequently, I don’t think I’m the kind of person who might want to give it a try. But I will definitely show the longboard to my family ; my kids and my 10 grandchildren. »

Originally from the Vallée de Joux, Mr. Meylan was born in Sentier and he lived there for a large part of his life. A former CEO of the Swiss watchmaking brand Audemars Piguet, he now chairs the Paul-Edouard Piguet Foundation, based in Le Brassus, which supports a select number of projects aimed at developing the Vallée de Joux. Whether these projects involve economic developments, the launch of new sports activities, cultural or tourism-related actions, the Muse Rolling project was totally in line with the Foundation’s vision.

Georges-Henri Meylan

Carte d’identité

Naissance : 19 janvier au Sentier.

Habite à la Vallée de Joux, Suisse.

Marié, 3 enfants, 10 petits-enfants.

 

La Fondation Paul-Edouard Piguet a choisi d’apporter son soutien au lancement de Muse Rolling, et nous avons interviewé son président, Georges-Henri Meylan, afin qu’il nous explique pourquoi.

 

« Tout d’abord, c’est l’originalité du projet qui nous a interpellés, même si c’est quand même une activité un petit peu risquée. Nous avions déjà aidé Laurent, fabricant de planches à roulettes de la Vallée de Joux, au lancement de son activité. Cela nous semblait donc homogène. »

 

Par rapport à la question de la mobilité douce, il considère également que Muse Rolling pourrait être une solution adaptée aux besoins d’un grand nombre de personnes.

 

« À la Vallée, beaucoup de gens se déplacent et vont parfois loin pour aller au boulot. L’idée d’une mobilité qui dépense peu ou pas d’énergie est vraiment dans le trend actuel. Et il permettra certainement à beaucoup de gens de gagner du temps entre la maison et le bureau. »

 

Surtout que pour sa part, l’écologie et la sauvegarde de l’environnement sont des sujets qui font l’objet de nombreux doutes, qui soulèvent encore beaucoup de questions. Avec souvent de grands discours et peu d’actions.

 

À titre personnel, il n’a pas d’autre choix que d’utiliser sa voiture. Par contre, on peut choisir quel genre de voiture on possède, nous dit-il, pour aller dans le sens d’une meilleure conscience écologique.

 

Quant à savoir si lui-même a l’intention de rouler sur un longboard Muse Rolling, il s’amuse et nous répond que ce n’est plus de son âge, il ne fait plus partie de cette cible de jeunes cadres dynamiques à qui la planche va plaire.

 

« À mon âge, il faut éviter de prendre des risques. Mais je pense même que je pourrais être du genre à essayer. Par contre, je vais le montrer à ma famille, mes enfants et mes dix petits-enfants, c’est sûr. »

 

Originaire de la Vallée de Joux, Monsieur Meylan est né au Sentier et y a vécu une grande partie de sa vie. Ancien CEO de la grande marque horlogère suisse Audemars Piguet, il préside aujourd’hui la Fondation Paul-Edouard Piguet, basée au Brassus, qui soutient des actions choisies qui visent à développer la Vallée de Joux. Que ce soient des sociétés économiques, le développement de nouvelles activités sportives, culturelles ou liées au tourisme, le projet Muse Rolling s’inscrivait entièrement dans leur vision.